Arizona State Leadership and Committees

View Committee Members and Board of Directors 2022-24

Chapter Council meetings are held face to face twice a year (March and August), although additional conference calls may be scheduled as well. Councilors are expected to attend all meetings and communicate with constituents in their Districts regularly to advise of activity and seek input from members.

Specifically, Councilors and ACC leaders shall:

  1. *Educate members about the value of Chapter and national membership, including specific results ACC yields for its’ members.
  2. * Serve as a Key Contact in your District and assist members in contacting legislators and responding to “legislative alerts.” Enlist support for state legislative issues, which may affect cardiovascular practices. Contact Legislators with the Chapter’s position on legislation.
  3. * Attend Chapter Annual Meetings and encourage members in your District to attend.
 President Wilber Su, MD, FACC beating heart disease!

President Wilber Su, MD, FACC beating heart disease!

President (2022-2025)

Wilber Su, MD, FACC

Banner-University Medical Group Heart Center
1300 N. 12th Street, Ste. 600
Phoenix, AZ. 85006
Tel (602) 839-7393

Immediate Past President (2019-2022)

Kwan S. Lee, MD, FACC

University Of Arizona
UPH, 3950 South Country Club Road Ste 200
Tucson, AZ 85714
Tel (520) 874-3278


Lianna Collinge, CAE

PMB 308 3849 E Broadway Blvd.
Tucson AZ 85716
Tel (877) 460-5880
Fax (253) 265-3043

Secretary / Treasurer


CV Team State Representative

M. Cecilia Tagle-Cornell, NP

Mayo Clinic Arizona
5777 East Mayo Boulevard
Phoenix AZ 85054
Tel 480-342-1398

Councilor: Greater Phoenix Area


Councilor: Greater Tucson Area (2022-2024)

Namit Rohant, MD, FACC

University of Arizona College of Medicine Sarver Heart Center
1501 N Campbell Ave
Tuscon, AZ 85724

Counciler: Greater Phoenix Area (2022-2024)

Andrew Kaplan, MD, FACC

Cardiovascular Associates of Mesa
6116 E Arbor Ave Ste 112
Mesa, AZ 85206-6103
Tel (480) 641-5400 FAX (480) 396-4814

Councilor: Greater Phoenix Area (2021-2023)

Wayne Franklin, MD, FACC

Phoenix Children’s Hospital, TCH Heart Center
1919 E Thomas Rd
Phoenix, AZ 85016
Tel (602) 933-3366 FAX (888) 959-7416

Councilor (2022-2024)


Councilor (2011-2023)

Nickalaus Gramze, MD, FACC

The Heart Institute – Banner University Medical Center
755 East McDowell Road 4th Floor
Phoenix, AZ 85006
Tel (602) 521-3090

Councilor: Greater Tucson Area (2021-2023)

Neil Gheewala, MD, MPH, FACC

Pima Heart Physicians
3709 N Campbell Ave #135
Tucson, AZ 85719
Tel (520) 838-3540

Councilor: Greater Tucson Area (2022-2024)

Madhan Shanmugasundaram, MD, FACC

Southern Arizona VA Health Care System
3601 South 6th Avenue Tucson, AZ 85723
Office: 520 629 4624
Cell: 520 204 4895

Councilor at Large (2021-2023)

G. Mason Garcia, MD, FACC

Lakeside Heart and Vascular
1072 Gleneagles Drive
Lake Havasu City, AZ 86406
Cell (208) 523-3373
Tel (208) 523-3373
FAX (208)523-8746


Michael Seckeler, MD, FACC

University of Arizona
1501 N Campbell Ave
PO Box 245073
Tucson AZ 85724
Cell: (434) 882-1254


Jake Martinez, DO

Banner Health – University Medical Cener Phoenix
1111 E McDowell Rd
Phoenix, AZ 85006
Office: (602) 839-2000
Cell: (520) 874-3500

Diversity & Inclusion Chair (WIC Chair, Alternate)

Rachel Bond, MD, FACC

Sun State Cardiology; Dignity Health
2600 E Southern Ave, Ste I-1
Tempe AZ 85282
Work: (480) 821-3800
Cell: (917) 692-1967

Vascular Section Chair

Fadi Shamoun, MD, FACC

Mayo Clinic
13400 E. Shea Blvd.
Scottsdale AZ 85259
Telephone (480) 301-8000 FAX: (480) 301-8018

Chair of Innovation and New Technologies


WIC Chair

Sarika Desai, D.O., FACC

2632 North 20th St.
Phoenix, AZ 85006
Tel (818) 434-1956

Early Career

Olufunso W. Odunukan, MBBS, MPH

Board certified in General/Interventional Cardiology
Tel (617) 308-9297

3rd Party/CAC

Peter C. Maki, MD, FACC

Biltmore Cardiology
4444 N 32nd St Ste 175 Phoenix, AZ 85018-3999
Tel (602) 952-0002 Fax (602) 778-4599

MAYO Clinic College of Medicine Liaison

Reza Arsanjani, MD 

Mayo Clinic Scottsdale
5777 E Mayo Blvd.
Phoenix, AZ 85054
Cell (520) 820- 6622

University of Arizona Tucson Campus Liaison

Tushar Acharya


Olivia Hung, MD

University of Arizona
Sarver Heart Center
Tucson AZ
(520) 626-9799



Government Relations/Advocacy

Heather M. Ross, DNP

Tel (775) 370-7971

Nominations / Awards

Kwan Lee. MD, FACC
Christian Breburda, MD, FACC
Wilbur Su, MD, FACC
Sarika Desai, MD, FACC
Lianna Collinge, CAE



Chair, Cardiovascular Imaging Section


Heart Failure Section Chair

Julie Rosenthal, MD, FACC

Mayo Clinic
5777 E Mayo Blvd.
Phoenix, AZ 85054

EP Section Chair

Matt Hutchinson, MD, FACC

Banner University Medical Center
1501 N Campbell Ave 4142B
Tucson, AZ 85724
Work: (520) 626-8615
Cell: (215) 840-3779
FAX (520) 626-0964  

Adult Congenital & Pediatric Section Chair

Wayne Franklin, MD, FACC

Phoenix Children’s Hospital, TCH Heart Center
1919 E Thomas Rd
Phoenix, AZ 85016
Tel (602) 933-3366 FAX (888) 959-7416

Interventional Section Chair

Thomas Waggoner, DO, FACC

PIMA Heart Physicians
4729 E Camp Lowell
Tucson AZ 85712
Work: (520) 838-3540
Cell: (207) 294-2837

Cardiovascular Surgeon Councilor